Craft · Lifestyle

How to take good photos for your blog

*Guest post

Hi everyone, I’m Lauren from lifestyle and travel blog, wooloftheking.com. If you’d like to learn more about me, you can read my 20 facts about me post

One of my favourite parts of blogging is taking photos to go with the post, and one of my favourite things about reading posts by other bloggers is looking at their images. It is great to read about people’s experiences but seeing images really makes you know whether you are interested in what they are writing about.  

Sculpture of a face

Take the Sculpture by the Lakes post over on my blog for example, I explain what the sculpture park is like, but the images of the sculptures are what make you decide if you would like to go there or not. 

For all of my blog images, I use my iPhone camera so my tips will be based on that. 

Tips on how to take good photos for your blog

Tip 1 – My first tip would be to treat everything you do as a photo opportunity. Even if you are not planning to blog about something, any images you take could be useful to you in the future, or could be used for social media or Pinterest. Any days out or meals out you go for are good photo opportunities. Sometimes I go on days out and forget to take any photos, then I think back and most of the time, I could have used those photos for something. If you take lots of photos everywhere you go, you can always delete them if you won’t use them, but I’d say just keep them in case you need them for something. 

Tip 2 – Get clear shots of everything. This is probably an easy one but a good tip nonetheless. It’s always important to put the thing you want to show off in the centre of the image. Also, if you are using a product you want to show off in an image such as make up, it’s important to make that show up in the image. 

Tip 3 – Lighting. Try to get good lighting when you’re taking your images. You can always brighten it up later but it’s better to get good light when taking the image so you have less work to do later.  

Tip 4 – Use Adobe Lightroom mobile app. I used to edit all of my images on the standard iPhone photos but you can do so much more on Lightroom. You can use presets on there which is really good to give all of your images a theme. You can edit an image to your taste, then create what you’ve done as a preset so you can apply that same effect to other images. Or, you can buy presets online. 

See the difference below between the first image and the image that has a preset on it. The second image just looks a lot brighter. 

Tip 5 – Read other blogs. Reading other blogs is a great way to see how other bloggers take pictures. You can see what kind of images they use and how many they add into posts.  

Do you have any tips for taking blog pictures? I’d love to know how you take pictures. 

Where to find Lauren

Blog – wooloftheking.com 

Instagram – @_laurenken 

Twitter – @_laurenken 

Pinterest – @laurenken1 

Pin for later

Would you like to guest post on my blog?

Fill out this form with your idea and I’ll get in contact.

47 thoughts on “How to take good photos for your blog

  1. Some really helpful tips, thanks! I’m still getting to grips with photography for my blog so always looking for tips from those who know what they’re doing.

    Like

  2. Totally agree with these points, especially treating every occasion as a photo opportunity. The more photos you take the better you become, it’s inevitable 😉 I’ve loved photography from a very young age and couple years ago I finally bought a professional camera. But it took me a year before I realized how to properly photograph with it: ‘manual’ is the magic word and it changed everything! I also love editing photos, it’s like therapy seeing the bland photos become to life on a whole new level. x

    Teresa Maria | Outlandish Blog

    Like

  3. Agree with all the tips!
    Most especially when your travelling, take lots of photos. Take extra shot for landscape or portrait mode, one day you might need them for your blog.

    Like

  4. Such great photography advice! I’m always striving to create all of my own content and avoid using stock photos where possible. I really think I need to invest in Lightroom too.

    Kate | thelittlecrunch.co.uk

    Like

  5. Great tips!! I’ve been trying to take more photos myself instead of using stock photos. More authentic that way

    Like

  6. Taking clear images with good lighting is such a great way to have range of photographs all ready to use alongside good writing. Having a phone with a good camera is also a wonderful tool to have to avoid bulky cameras. 🙂

    Like

  7. I love Lightroom—it’s amazing what a few small tweaks can do to a photo! I really want to improve my photography, so these are great tips!

    Like

  8. These are great tips, thank you for sharing. I really want to get into taking my own photos, but I’m not creative in that respect. These tips have inspired me to give it a go!

    Em x

    Like

  9. These are some great tips, thank you for sharing. I completely agree with taking photos of everything even if only for the practise! 🙂

    Like

  10. I really needed this, thank you for sharing! I’ve been struggling with getting good images on my blog, and this was really helpful!

    Like

  11. Hi Lauren and Kelly. Thanks for the photo tips. I know a lot of bloggers don’t seem to make much use of pictures but I love a blog post that has pictures too. If nothing else, it helps to break-up the text and make the post more enjoyable to read. Is Lightroom for iPhone only? If you want something that rivals Photoshop but is completely free, try https://www.gimp.org/downloads/ (don’t be put off by the name – GIMP is awesome!)

    Like

  12. I’m not the greatest photographer, so need all the help I can get in this area. Thanks for sharing these tips! 🙂

    Like

  13. Lauren has some great tips here for blog photos. I have Lightroom downloaded but don’t typically use it. I think it is about time I played around with it.

    Like

  14. I think my favourite part of blogging is also taking my photos. I do a lot of Flatlays so it can take me ages to put the photo together exactly how I like it. Lighting is so important and can make or break a photo. Great tips x

    Like

  15. This has got some really useful tips in it! I’m terrible for taking photos, I always forget when I’m out and about. But it is a good idea to take loads of photos, that way there’s more to pick from! Nice post, thanks for sharing x

    Like

  16. You are so right. As soon as you start blogging, you find a million reasons to take photos of everything. You just never know when you’ll need a cool photo for a post.

    Like

  17. Awesome post! Thanks for allowing Lauren to contribute her expertise! I love how good the pictures from my iphone are, but they could use a little tweaking. I’ve been meaning to learn lightroom for a while now, I’ve just been a little intimidated by it. Lauren has inspired to get up off my butt and actually learn how to use it! Great post!

    Like

  18. Great advice! I have been trying to focus on my pictures more as of late. I used to use Lightroom with an old blog but haven’t touched it in far too long. Time to get back to that again at some point in the near future!

    Like

  19. Great tips. I’ve been enjoying Instagram and photography much more since I downloaded Lightroom and bought some presets and generally just got a bit more creative!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.