Lifestyle

The Bells Of Burracombe & A Stranger In Burracombe

Today’s post marks the start of a new series of book reviews I’ll be doing over the coming weeks. The Bells Of Burracombe and A Stranger In Burrcacombe are the first two. These are out of fourteen books in a series written by Lilian Harry. Grab a cuppa and lets get started.

bookcase books bookshop bookstore for The Bells Of Burracombe & A Stranger In Burracombe.
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

I have been a fan of Lilian’s books for many years. She is one of those authors that captures the happiness and the sadness of everyday life. Many of the books she has written have been set during the second world war. The Burracombe series is different to that because it is set in a post-war Britain.

I first started collecting the Burracombe books as a teenager. I wanted to have the whole set before I began reading them. It would mean than I could just follow on from book to book, enjoying the stories as I went. Lilian kept me on my toes with this because she kept on writing. The first book was published in 2006 and the last was published in 2017. As I result of this, it has taken me until now to start reading them.

The first book in the series is The Bells Of Burracombe, so here is the blurb.

The Bells Of Burracombe Front Cover.

The Bells Of Burracombe

When Stella Simmons arrives in the Devonshire village of Burracombe to start her teaching career, she is alone in the world. Orphaned as a child during the war, she was separated from her sister and brought up in a children’s home.

Stella is soon caught up in village life, especially the plans for celebrating the Festival of Britain, which keep the headmistress and vicar busy trying to preserve the peace between villagers who all have their own ideas about what should be done. But Stella still finds time to try to trace her sister, with the help of artist Luke Ferris.

Luke is happy to help Stella – not least because it provides a distraction from his own problems, involving a long-past relationship which has come back to haunt him…

My Thoughts

Firstly, I wanted to say that I first started reading this book back in June last year. It has taken me that long to get through all of the books. I did write lots of notes along the way, to help me write these reviews.

Lockdown was the perfect excuse to start reading the Burracombe series. What I really liked about this book was how Lilian introduces you to both the characters and the village itself. At the start of the book, there is a map showing you the village. You can really get a feel of the place and imagine yourself there. I found myself captivated by a secret that Stella held close to her. As the book evolved, the secret slowly unfolds, playing its role through, right up until the last page. It really makes this book a page turner, because you just want to know what happens next.

The Festival of Britain plays a huge part in the story. Starting from the idea, to the planning of actual related events, the build up is huge. There is however, not much said about the Festival itself and is just given a few small pages. Personally, I think this is a great way of doing it,. Sometimes the anticipation of a coming event, out ways the enjoyment. A lot more drama can unfold during the build up and it really shows the characters personalities through this. The end of the book had me wanting to know what happens next and so I started straight away.

A Stranger In Burracombe Front Cover.

A Stranger In Burracombe

He hoped that he was not about to uncover a family tragedy, or some old secret best left untold…

In the midst of a nation shocked by the sudden death of the King, the arrival of a stranger in the Devonshire village of Burracombe is hardly noticed. After all, the villagers have their own concerns: Val needs to find a home before she can marry her sweetheart; Hilary is struggling to come to terms with her new responsibilities; and Stella is still getting to know the sister she thought she had lost in the war.

Then Jennifer arrives, searching for a family she hadn’t even realised existed. And, as the village becomes involved in her search, more than one person questions their own ideas about families, and what they mean.

My Thoughts

A Stranger In Buracombe is the second book in the series. It had been a long time since I’d read a series by Lilian Harry. I’d caught up on all her other books, leaving just the Burracombe series to read. I was intrigued to see how the story would follow on in this book.

The story starts off with the arrival of Jennifer. Little clues start being dropped throughout the first part of the story. It allows the reader to feel a part of her journey of discovery. By piecing the clues together, you get a rough idea of who Jennifer’s father is. Whilst this is going on, village life also continues. You can see how the stories weave in and out of every household in such a clever yet simple way.

The underlying theme for me though was just how different the older generation in this story were brought up. The books are set in the 1950s. Therefore, the older generation mentioned would have been born around the 1900s. It really gives you a glimpse of what their early years were like. You can just how different each generation is brought up.

The outcome of this story left me thinking that love always pulls you through. Also that sometimes your blood relatives can be the cruellest of all. Its something that I’ve experienced in my life and so I felt like I had a strong connection with the characters.

That brings me to the end of the first two-part book review series. As I’ve mentioned above, I will continue reviewing the Burracombe book series over the coming weeks, so keep an eye out for those.

In the meantime, why not check out these book reviews:

Water Gypsies by Annie Murray

Another Man’s Child by Anne Bennett

The Allotment Girls by Kate Thompson

28 thoughts on “The Bells Of Burracombe & A Stranger In Burracombe

  1. I never heard of this serie before but it sounds truly interesting! I really like reading historical fiction so adding this to my list and looking forward to read the rest of your reviews x

    Like

  2. You make me want to love historical fiction with reviews about books like these. It’s never been my go-to genre, but I’d like to dive into it more. Maybe these books would be a good place to start. I love that you patiently waited for the author to complete all of the stories before investing in them!

    Like

  3. This sounds like an interesting series and I’m glad that you’re enjoying these books. I look forward to reading your reviews for the additional books in the series.

    Like

  4. I haven’t heard of this series but it sounds quite interesting and it sounds like you’re a big fan of the author! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on these reviews.

    Like

  5. I love that these books have been with you for over a decade! The first two you share here also have some amazingly quaint colors and vibes. As a lover of historical fiction, especially stories set in the bittersweet aftermath of the world wars, these books offer a taste of the village life I love and the promise of twelve more to come.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. This sounds really interesting. I love that there are so many books in the series – I always feel like I just get into a series and it’s coming to an end lol I also adore books where they take the time to flesh out the various characters rather than just focusing on the main character. It really adds dimension to the storyline.

    Like

  7. I haven’t come across this author before – I’ll have to have a nose, I said I’d branch out more this year so will pop this on my list to pick up xx

    Like

  8. A fourteen book series?! That’s some commitment from the author right there! I tend to read a lot of standalone books or the first book in a series and then find it’s not really for me. I don’t think I’ve ever read a series that’s this long before 🤔

    Like

  9. I don’t know this author but I think it was Miss Read that wrote a series of books set in a village, and I loved those, so I might have to give Burracombe a go too – great review, Kelly!

    Like

  10. I haven’t heard of this series before but your introduction to it definitely has me intrigued! Really looking forward to hearing about the rest of them – happy reading! Great review!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.